Baku International Architecture Award

NB: Senere frist for indsendelse af materiale til den internationale arkitekturpris i Azerbaijan. Nu 15.09.2021.

Baku, Azerbaijan. Foto: Alvin Mahmudov on Unsplash



Arrangeret af:

Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Azerbaijan and the Union of Architects of Azerbaijan



The Baku International Architecture Award is an open, biennial award organised by the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Azerbaijan and the Union of Architects of Azerbaijan with the support of the International Union of Architects (UIA).

We are proud to announce that the previous edition of the Award in 2019 enjoyed participation from 38 countries: Angola, Argentina, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Brazil, Hungary, Vietnam, Greece, Georgia, Hong Kong, Denmark, Egypt, Iran, Spain, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, China, Kenya, Lebanon, Malaysia, Mexico, UAE, Portugal, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Romania, USA, Turkey, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, France, Sri Lanka, Estonia, South Africa, Japan, and about 200 works were submitted to the contest.

The Award was held in the framework of the International Architectural Forum “Mass Tourism in Historic Cities” and recognised many interesting works.The award winners came from 18 countries: South Africa, Egypt, China, Georgia, Japan, Azerbaijan, Kenya, Iran, Slovakia, Portugal, Malaysia, Spain, Argentina, UAE, Greece, Hong Kong, Denmark, Bangladesh.

In the context of the COVID-19 pandemic, this year, the Fifth Anniversary Edition of the Award will be held online.

Objectives and Goals

The main objective of the competition is to recognise new ideas for: development and implementation of urban planning and architectural projects, more expressive design for buildings and structures, search for composition, volumetric and spatial solutions; implementation of practical ideas to achieve the maximum diversity.

Award categories

Entries are invited in the following categories:
A – best implemented project in the field of public architecture;
B – best implemented project in the field of residential architecture;
C – best implemented interiors;
D – best non-realised project;
E – best implemented project in the field of landscape architecture
F –best project undertaken in the field of rehabilitation and reconstruction of historic buildings;
G – best publication in the field of architecture.


Architects duly qualified for architectural practice in their country of residence may participate in the Award. Each participant can submit only one project for each category. Participation is free of charge.

Questions and Answers

All questions concerning the Award procedure should be sent to the following e-mail address:  The organisers shall send answers to the participants as soon as possible.
The working languages of the competition are Azerbaijani, Russian and English.


The prize fund of 52 500 AZN, has been established by the organizers. The prize fund will be awarded as follows:
First prize of 4000 AZN
Second prize of 2500 AZN
Third prize of 1000 AZN

Jury of the Award

A highly professional and impartial international jury whose composition will be suggested by the UIA will evaluate award entries.
Members of the international jury may not participate in the award and may not have any contact with the participants. Only the organisers of the Award may answer participants’ questions. The international jury can validly conduct its work in the presence of at least 2/3 of its members.
The jury will review all entries and eliminate those that do not meet the requirements listed above.
The decisions of the international jury are taken by simple majority, in a manner determined by the jury itself. In the event of a tied vote, the chairman of the international jury will have the casting vote.
The international jury shall be the only arbiter in all stages of the adjudication up to the awarding of the prizes.
The organizers of the award may invite experts who will comply with the confidentiality requirements and have no right to vote.


Announcement:  29 January 2021
Deadline for submitting questions: 01 August 2021
Deadline for the reception of entries: 01 September 2021:
International jury: 28-30 September
Announcement of the results: 04 October 2021.
Filtrér: Arkitektforeningen


Se 12 mere +


Se 12 mere +


Se 12 mere +


Se 12 mere +


Se 12 mere +


Se 12 mere +


Se 12 mere +